South West Nova - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySouth West Nova, Nova ScotiaIMG stream
- 1 position
- 2 years
- IMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35625
Summary
- The South West Nova site of Dalhousie Family Medicine is a two-year longitudinal integrated rural program.
- Training takes place in Yarmouth, Digby and Shelburne counties, and Yarmouth Regional Hospital is the academic centre.
- Residents spend two days per week in their family practice in PGY1 and three in PGY2, and must complete a scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Regional community
- Sites
1 teaching site
- Yarmouth Regional Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Small program
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- All rotations are delivered on-site in a longitudinal format, except second-year electives.
- A four-week orientation, including a week of buddy shifts in hospitalist and call settings.
- Mostly one-on-one teaching in family medicine and Royal College specialties, with little competition from other residents.
By year
- PGY-1
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- electives8 weeks
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- General Surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Palliative Medicine
- Anesthesia
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Sat 9 Jan 202712:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Sat 9 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Yarmouth Regional Hospital (Yarmouth)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Yarmouth Regional Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Information
Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
South West Nova Site
Dr. Kenny Yee
Site Director
Heather Blackler
Site Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
South West Nova, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −2.6 °C
- July average
- 17.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 204.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 6,829 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.4% · French only not reported · English and French 15.3% · neither 0.3%
- Immigrants
- 3.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.3% · public transit 0.6% · walking or cycling 11.9% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $48,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Yarmouth, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.421
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $51,917 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage