Skip to content
CdnMD

Stratford - Family Medicine

Western UniversityStratford, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 19 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
29185

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Stratford Family Medicine residency program is a two-year training program designed to prepare residents for comprehensive family practice in a rural/semi-urban setting. The curriculum leverages resources at Stratford General Hospital to provide diverse training opportunities, with the first year focusing on foundational medical skills and the second year emphasizing continuity of care and family practice experience.

Training

Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Rural/semi-urban setting in Stratford, Ontario, with training primarily at Stratford General Hospital and Avon Family Medicine Centre
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing comprehensive family physicians through structured clinical experiences and academic learning
Setting types
  • Rural hospital
  • Family medicine centre
Focus areas
  • Rural/Semi-urban Family Medicine
  • Comprehensive Family Practice
  • Continuity of Care
Patient populations
  • Rural community patients
  • Comprehensive family medicine patient population
Highlights
  • Residents live in Stratford during training
  • Robust resources at Stratford General Hospital
  • Elective blocks for specialized training
Strengths
  • Strong rural medicine training
  • Comprehensive clinical exposure
  • Emphasis on continuity of care
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

PGY-1
  • Foundation rotations in medicine and surgeryStratford General HospitalFull year
PGY-2
  • Family practiceAvon Family Medicine CentreMajority of year
  • Elective blocksVariousRemaining blocks

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview
  • Family Medicine Professional Choices Assessment (FMProC)
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
21, 24 and 25 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Stratford General Hospital
  • Avon Family Medicine Centre

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Stratford.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Location

Stratford, Ontario

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.