Skip to content
CdnMD

Sudbury - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine

NOSM UniversitySudbury, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 8 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35941

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This five-year NOSM U PHPM-FM stream is based in Sudbury and includes two years of clinical training with the NOSM U Family Medicine program.
  • Clinical training is mostly at Health Sciences North and Sudbury clinics, with public health placements at Public Health Sudbury & Districts.
  • Residents must relocate and work in multiple communities, with travel and housing support for core rotations away from home.
  • Training includes at least two semesters of graduate studies and a scholarly project.

Training

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Public health agency
Sites

2 teaching sites

  • Health Sciences North
  • Public Health Sudbury & Districts

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Dual certification pathway: two years of family medicine training plus Royal College PHPM certification.
  • Affiliation with the University of Global Health Equity in Butaro, Rwanda.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Public Health (Transition to PHPM)
  • Family Medicine (Transition to PHPM)
  • Communicable Disease Control (Core PHPM training)
  • Environmental Health (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Policy and Planning (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Promotion, Chronic Disease Prevention, and Injury Prevention (Core PHPM training)
  • Leadership and Management (Transition to independent PHPM practice)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Health Sciences North (Sudbury)
  • Public Health Sudbury & Districts (Sudbury)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Sudbury.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

“Applications will only be considered through submission on CaRMS.ca. Please do not apply via email to the Program Coordinator.” · the program’s note on CaRMS

rmaskevich@nosm.ca

Rebecca Maskevich · Program Coordinator

Program directors

“Applications will only be considered through submission on CaRMS.ca. Please do not apply via email to the Program Coordinator.” · the program’s note on CaRMS

  • Dr. Emily Groot

  • Dr. Reed Morrison

    Associate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Sudbury, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−12.7 °C Sudbury, 19.4 km away
July average
19.1 °C Sudbury, 19.4 km away
Snowfall
263.4 cm a year Sudbury, 19.4 km away
Days below −20 °C
27.9 days a year Sudbury, 19.4 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Greater Sudbury / Grand Sudbury, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
166,004 people up 2.8% from 2016
Official languages
English only 62.3% · French only 0.9% · English and French 36.6% · neither 0.2% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
6.0% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 1.0% · non-permanent residents: 2.2%
Indigenous identity
11.0% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 89.9% · public transit 4.1% · walking or cycling 3.8% · other 2.1% Average commute: 20.6 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$84,000 before tax $74,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sudbury, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people) 92,093 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.271 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
1.1% October 2025 survey, Greater Sudbury, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$54,744 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Greater Sudbury, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.6 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.