Thunder Bay - Anesthesiology
NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36366
Summary
- NOSM University's Anesthesiology program is a 5-year residency with Thunder Bay or Sudbury as the primary training site.
- It is a distributed program requiring travel, with clinical experiences available across Northern Ontario from small rural hospitals to regional centres.
- Residents complete a mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and are expected to undertake a scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
15 teaching sites
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)
- Health Sciences North (HSN)
- Labelle Innovation and Learning Center
Show all 15Show fewer
- North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC)
- Sault Area Hospital (SAH)
- Hospital for Sick Children
- Dryden District Health Centre
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital
- Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre
- Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare
- Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.
- St. Joseph’s Care Group
- Temiskaming Hospital
- Timmins and District Hospital
- Notre Dame Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- First anesthesiology program in Canada to implement components of a competency-based curriculum, in 2013.
- Residents are not needed for day-to-day hospital functioning, so the service-to-education balance favours the residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children (three-month · Toronto)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 27 Oct 20267:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Tue 27 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 4 Nov 20267:00 pm ET
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Wed 4 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay)
- Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury)
- Labelle Innovation and Learning Center (Sudbury)
- North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC) (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
- Sault Area Hospital (SAH) (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden · rural or distributed site)
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
- Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
- Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (rural or distributed site)
- Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances · rural or distributed site)
- St. Joseph’s Care Group (rural or distributed site)
- Temiskaming Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
- Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sarah McIsaac
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Thunder Bay, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −13.4 °C
- July average
- 18.0 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 42.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 108,843 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.0% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 8.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 88.5% · public transit 3.8% · walking or cycling 5.9% · other 1.8%
- Median household income
- $77,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Thunder Bay, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.295
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage