Toronto - Anesthesiology - Clinician Investigator Program
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology - Clinician Investigator Program
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36105
Summary
- This is the University of Toronto anesthesia Clinician Investigator Program, a 6-year residency for applicants pursuing a clinician scientist career.
- Residents complete at least 2 years of intensive research, with at least 80% of that time devoted to research, in a graduate or postdoctoral stream.
- Clinical training matches the regular program, with 4 years at multiple Toronto hospitals.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
13 teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
Show all 13Show fewer
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- The Holland Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- St. Joseph's Health Science Centre
- Toronto General Hospital
- Toronto Western Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Women's College Hospital
- Scarborough Health Network
- Trillium Health Partners
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call
- Highlights
- PGY salary funds one year of CIP research; residents are expected to find external salary support for the remaining years.
- Global elective in Parma, Italy, doing out-of-hospital (ambulance) critical care.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- pediatric anesthesia (Foundations Stage)
- medicine (Foundations Stage)
- critical care (Foundations Stage)
- medicine (Core Training Stage)
- critical care (Core Training Stage)
- High-risk Obstetrical Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
- Thoracics (Core Training Stage)
- Regional Anesthesia (Core Training Stage)
- Chronic Pain (Core Training Stage)
- community hospital experience (one block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- The Holland Centre (Toronto)
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Joseph's Health Science Centre (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital (Toronto)
- Scarborough Health Network (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
residency.anesthesia@utoronto.ca
Shared by Ms. Kavya Patel · Residency Program Officer and Ms. Shana Tan · Residency Program Coordinator
Program directors
Dr. Eric You-Ten
Program Director
Dr. Katherine Marseu
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage