Toronto - Dermatology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Dermatology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36383
Summary
- This is a 5-year dermatology residency at the University of Toronto, established in 1964.
- PGY1 and PGY2 cover internal medicine, pediatrics and introductory dermatology rotations, followed by three dedicated dermatology years.
- Training takes place at five main Toronto teaching sites, with community dermatology rotations in PGY2 and PGY5.
- Up to 6 months of elective or dedicated research time is available in the senior years.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Hospital for Sick Children
- St. Joseph's Health Centre
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 10Show fewer
- University Health Network
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
- Toronto General Hospital
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Women's College Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Mt. Sinai Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Describes itself as the largest dermatology training faculty in Canada.
- Required 4-week Tropical Medicine rotation at Toronto General Hospital in PGY2.
- Incoming residents may tailor early stages toward an increased focus on general pediatrics.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Medicine8 weeks
- General Pediatrics8 Weeks
- Emergency Medicine8 weeks
- Infectious Diseases8 weeks
- Rheumatology8 weeks
- Introductory Dermatology4 weeks
- Allergy and Immunology4 weeks
- Outpatient Experience 1 (Pigmented Lesions, Phototherapy, Mouth Clinic, Wound Care, Lymphoma Clinic)4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Dermatology16 weeks
- Community, Cosmetic, and Contact Dermatitis8 weeks
- Plastic Surgery8 weeks
- Tropical Medicine4 weeks
- Clinicopathologic Correlation4 weeks
- Wound Care4 weeks
- Pediatric Dermatology4 weeks
- Outpatient Experience 2 (Melanoma, Phototherapy, Cutaneous Oncology, Wound Care)4 weeks
Other rotations
- General Clinic Dermatology including inpatient and outpatient exposure (PGY3 to 5 · 15 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, Women's College Hospital)
- Pediatric Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 4.5 months · Hospital For Sick Children)
- Dermatopathology (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · University Health Network, Women's College Hospital)
- Dermatologic Surgery (PGY3 to 5 · 3 months · Women's College Hospital)
- Elective or Dedicated Research Time (PGY3 to 5 · 6 months · Various sites)
- Community Dermatology (PGY3 to 5 · 1.5 months · Community)
- Senior Resident Clinic (concurrent in PGY4 or PGY5 years) (PGY3 to 5 · 3–12 months · Sunnybrook, Toronto Western Hospital, or Women's College Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Toronto)
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Mt. Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Philip Doiron
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage