Toronto - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34639
Summary
- This one-year addiction medicine program trains family physicians to treat patients with substance use disorders in urban or rural settings.
- Residents rotate across University of Toronto network hospitals and community settings while keeping a longitudinal family medicine clinic.
- All residents complete a scholarly project in education, policy, advocacy, QI or research.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- SJHC
- SMH
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Includes gambling disorders and nicotine dependency clinics alongside youth concurrent disorders experience.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Inpatient addiction medicine consultation service
- Medical withdrawal unit
- Outpatient management of concurrent disorders
- Residential treatment
- Managing patients with chronic pain and opioid use disorders
- Managing patients with pregnancy and substance use disorders
- Youth concurrent disorders
- Nicotine dependency clinic
- Gambling disorders clinic
- Optional selectives including HIV and Hepatitis C care, borderline personality disorder clinic, sexual behaviours clinic, etc.
- Longitudinal half day back in family medicine
- Family Medicine Longitudinal Experience
- Integrated Pain and Chemical Dependency
- Medical Withdrawal Service
- Outpatient Addiction Medicine and Concurrent Disorders (AMS)
- Youth Addiction and Concurrent Disorders Service
- Inpatient Addiction (SJHC) (SJHC)
- Inpatient Addiction (SMH) (SMH)
- Residential Treatment
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- SJHC (Toronto)
- SMH (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Erin Lurie
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%