Toronto - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34610
Summary
- This 1-year family medicine emergency medicine program leads to eligibility for the CCFP Certification Examination in Emergency Medicine.
- Training uses several Toronto area community and teaching hospitals, with trauma at St. Michael's Hospital.
- Rotations include adult and pediatric emergency, ICU, CCU, anesthesia, orthopedics, trauma and a 4-week ED ultrasound rotation, and a scholarly project is required.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- The Credit Valley Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- North York General Hospital
Show all 11Show fewer
- Humber River Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Southlake Regional Hospital
- Scarborough Health Network
- St. Joseph’s Health Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- Collingwood General & Marine Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- family_practice_continuity
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house call
- Highlights
- Dedicated 4-week ED ultrasound rotation aiming for CEUS Independent Practitioner status.
- Pre-hospital exposure with one air and one land ambulance ride-out.
- Trauma rotation at an inner-city tertiary trauma centre, shadowing Trauma Team Leader call.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Emergency Department (12 weeks)
- Pediatric Emergency Department (8 weeks)
- Anesthesia (Adult and Pediatric) (4 weeks)
- Orthopedics (4 weeks)
- Elective (4 weeks)
- Intensive Care Unit (8 weeks)
- Coronary Care Unit (4 weeks)
- Trauma (4 weeks · St. Michael's Hospital)
- ED Ultrasound (4 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 20 and 21 Oct 2026
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Credit Valley Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Humber River Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Southlake Regional Hospital
- Scarborough Health Network
- St. Joseph’s Health Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- Collingwood General & Marine Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Amna KARABEGOVIC
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- DFCM Enhanced Skills Emergency Medicine Program Page(opens in a new tab)
- DFCM Enhanced Skills Program(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%