Toronto - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 34630
Summary
- This 52-week program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia care for low-risk patients, particularly in smaller rural and underserviced communities.
- Core training includes 7 blocks of anesthesia at Michael Garron Hospital, obstetrical anesthesia at Mount Sinai, pediatric anesthesia at SickKids, ICU, trauma anesthesia at Sunnybrook and one month at a rural/remote site.
- Residents complete a scholarly project and Grand Rounds presentation.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Michael Garron Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- The Hospital for Sick Kids
Show all 11Show fewer
- Sunnybrook Hospital
- Lakeridge Health
- Humber River Hospital
- Wasserman Pain Management Centre
- Lakeridge Health – Port Perry
- Headwaters Health Care Centre
- Georgian Bay General Hospital -Midland
- Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house call · frequency “up to 7 overnight calls per month”
- Highlights
- Competitive one-month selective in Nunavut focused on Indigenous health in remote regions.
- Dedicated one-block trauma anesthesia rotation at Sunnybrook Hospital.
- Optional two-week acute on chronic pain management selective at Wasserman Pain Management Centre.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Anesthesia (7 blocks · Michael Garron Hospital)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (2 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (1 block · The Hospital for Sick Kids)
- ICU (1 block)
- Trauma Anesthesia (1 block · Sunnybrook Hospital)
- FPA-practice (one month · one of four rural/remote sites)
- one month selective in the community of Nunavut (Selectives · one month · Nunavut)
- Acute on Chronic Pain Management selective (Selectives · two week · Wasserman Pain Management Centre)
- Community Hospital Rotation (Anesthesia) (Sample Rotation · 28 Weeks · Michael Garron Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Hospital for Sick Children)
- Tertiary Care & High-Risk OB (Sample Rotation · 8 Weeks · Mount Sinai Hospital)
- Rural Community Hospital (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Port Perry Hospital or Orangeville Hospital)
- Intensive Care (Sample Rotation · 4 Weeks · Humber River Hospital or Lakeridge Health)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 11 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Kids (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Hospital (Toronto)
- Lakeridge Health
- Humber River Hospital (Toronto)
- Wasserman Pain Management Centre
- Lakeridge Health – Port Perry (Port Perry · rural or distributed site)
- Headwaters Health Care Centre (Orangeville · rural or distributed site)
- Georgian Bay General Hospital -Midland (Midland · rural or distributed site)
- Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital (Orillia · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Razvan Purza
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%