Toronto - General Surgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 13 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35691
Summary
- The University of Toronto General Surgery program is a five-year residency divided into 4-week blocks, 13 per year.
- Training takes place at academic and community hospitals, with community and academic surgery exposure built into the program structure.
- Residents must complete and present at least one scholarly project, and may apply to the Surgeon Scientist Training Program after PGY-2 or PGY-3.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
21 teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Toronto General Hospital
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Show all 21Show fewer
- Toronto Western Hospital
- St Michael's Hospital
- Women's College Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- St Joseph's Health Care Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Humber River Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners
- Credit Valley Hospital
- Mackenzie Health
- The Scarborough Hospital
- Oak Valley Health
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre
- Barrie
- Owen Sound
- Collingwood
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Access to North America's largest transplant program.
- Surgeon Scientist Training Program with a thesis-based graduate degree of at least two years.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Acute Care Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Colorectal Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Pediatric General Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Trauma Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Thoracic Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Transplant Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Vascular Surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Critical Care Medicine (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Endoscopy (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Trauma Team Leader (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Selectives & Electives (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Acute Care Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Ambulatory Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Breast Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Colorectal Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Complex Surgical Oncology (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Community Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Endocrine Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Minimally Invasive & Bariatric Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Trauma Surgery (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Electives (PGY-3, PGY-4, and PGY-5)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · last four blocks of PGY-5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 6 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- St Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- St Joseph's Health Care Centre (Toronto)
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
- Humber River Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
- Credit Valley Hospital (Mississauga)
- Mackenzie Health (Vaughan/Richmond Hill)
- The Scarborough Hospital (Toronto)
- Oak Valley Health (Markham Stouffville)
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
- Barrie (Barrie · rural or distributed site)
- Owen Sound (Owen Sound · rural or distributed site)
- Collingwood (Collingwood · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Savtaj Brar
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Division of General Surgery, University of Toronto(opens in a new tab)
- Department of Surgery, University of Toronto(opens in a new tab)
- Clinician Investigator Program(opens in a new tab)
- Surgeon Scientist Program Website(opens in a new tab)
- University of Toronto Visiting Student Electives(opens in a new tab)
- PGME at U of T(opens in a new tab)
- Surgical Skills Centre(opens in a new tab)
- Toronto: The World at Your Doorstep(opens in a new tab)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage