Toronto - Hematological Pathology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 4 years
- CMG
- Hematological Pathology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36416
Summary
- The University of Toronto Hematological Pathology residency is a four-year Competence by Design program accredited by the Royal College.
- Training takes place across multiple Toronto-area sites, including University Health Network, SickKids, Mount Sinai, Unity Health and Sunnybrook.
- Residents are expected to complete a supervised research project, and research time is protected.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- The University Health Network
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Unity Health (St. Michael's Hospital & St. Joseph's Health Centre)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners
- Dynacare
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated rotation time focused on diagnosis of lymphoid tissue.
- Residents join University of Toronto Clinical Hematology academic half days alongside their own.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The University Health Network (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Unity Health (St. Michael's Hospital & St. Joseph's Health Centre) (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners
- Dynacare
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Larissa Liontos
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage