Toronto - Internal Medicine
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 53 positions
- 3 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 401–600
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35861
Summary
- The University of Toronto Internal Medicine program is a three-year core program with about 65-70 residents per PGY year.
- Residents are assigned base hospitals among the main Toronto teaching hospitals and also train at community sites.
- Training includes at least 15 blocks of general internal medicine, four critical care blocks, and one protected PGY2 block for a required scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Sinai Health Systems (Mount Sinai Hospital)
- St. Michael’s Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 9Show fewer
- University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Women’s College Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners (Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital)
- St. Joseph’s Health Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Black and Indigenous applicant pathway with interviews by a panel including an Indigenous or Black faculty member.
- Four-year academic half day program, including Royal College exam preparation in PGY3.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general internal medicine (clinical teaching unit, medical consults, emergency consults, ambulatory and community-based internal medicine) (a minimum of 15 rotation blocks)
- managing critically ill patients (four (4) rotation blocks)
- scholarly project (1 block)
- medicine-related subspecialties
- Electives (Up to six (6) rotation blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22, 25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Sinai Health Systems (Mount Sinai Hospital) (Toronto)
- St. Michael’s Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital) (Toronto)
- Women’s College Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners (Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital) (Mississauga)
- St. Joseph’s Health Centre (Toronto)
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Rodrigo Cavalcanti
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage