Toronto - Medical Genetics and Genomics
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Genetics and Genomics
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35311
Summary
- This is a 5-year Medical Genetics and Genomics residency based at the Hospital for Sick Children, with rotations at TAHSN sites in Toronto.
- The curriculum includes 5 blocks of laboratory rotations, 2 research blocks, and a 13-week protected molecular and cytogenetics course.
- In later stages, residents take home call and attend a monthly continuity clinic.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Hospital for Sick Children
- University Health Network
- Toronto General Hospital
Show all 10Show fewer
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Princess Margaret Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- St. Michaels Hospital
- Holland Bloorview Hospital
- NYGH
- Credit Valley
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Highlights
- Describes itself as Canada's largest Medical Genetics and Genomics training program.
- In-house biochemical, molecular and cytogenetic laboratories that also serve as fellowship training sites.
- A 13-week protected molecular and cytogenetics course for genetics trainees, held at SickKids.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Orientation to Genetics (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks · SickKids and UHN)
- General Internal Medicine (Foundations · 3 blocks · UHN sites (Toronto General or Toronto Western Hospitals))
- General Paediatics (Foundations · 3 blocks · SickKids)
- High-Risk Obstetrics (Foundations · 2 block · Mount Sinai Hospital)
- Haematology/Oncology (Foundations · 1 block · SickKids)
- Cardiology (Foundations · 1 block · Mount Sinai Hospital and SickKids)
- Adult Neurology (Foundations · 1 block · UHN sites)
- NICU (Foundations · 2 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital and SickKids)
- Developmental Pediatrics (Foundations · 1 block · Holland Bloorview Hospital)
- Paediatric Neurology (Foundations · 2 blocks · SickKids)
- Palliative Care (Foundations · 1 block · SickKids)
- Elective Rotations (Foundations · 2 blocks)
- Clinical Genetics Inpatient (Core · 4 blocks · SickKids)
- Pediatrics Clinical Genetics Outpatient (Core · 4 blocks · SickKids)
- Adult Genetics Clinical Genetics Outpatient (Core · 1 block · UHN)
- Cancer Genetics (Core · 3 blocks · UHN/SickKids/NYGH)
- Clinical Genetics Outpatient (Core · 1 block · NYGH)
- Community Genetics (Core · 1 block · NYGH/Credit Valley or other site approved by PD)
- Prenatal Genetics (Core · 3 blocks · Mount Sinai Hospital)
- mixed Metabolics (Core · 1 block)
- Metabolic Inpatient (Core · 2 blocks · SickKids)
- Metabolic Outpatient (Core · 2 blocks · SickKids)
- Laboratory Rotations (Core · 5 blocks · SickKids)
- Genetic Counselling (Core · 1 block · SickKids)
- Newborn Screening (Core · 1 block · SickKids)
- Research (Core · 2 blocks · UHN or SickKids)
- Electives or Research (Core · 3 blocks)
- Team Leader TTP (Transition to Practice · 2 blocks · SickKids and UHN)
- Research/Electives (Transition to Practice · 5 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 and 28 Jan 2027; 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michaels Hospital (Toronto)
- Holland Bloorview Hospital (Toronto)
- NYGH (Toronto)
- Credit Valley
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Graeme Nimmo
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage