Toronto - Medical Microbiology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36044
Summary
- This is a 5-year Medical Microbiology residency at the University of Toronto.
- Residents rotate, generally in 6-month blocks, through academic microbiology labs at Mount Sinai Hospital, Unity Health, Sunnybrook, SickKids and the Public Health Ontario Laboratory.
- Residents may take dedicated research electives of 3 to 12 months and are expected to present projects at the annual Departmental Research Day.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Public health agency
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Unity Health
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- Hospital for Sick Children
- Public Health Ontario Laboratory
- North York General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Option for dedicated research electives lasting 3 to 12 months.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Unity Health (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Public Health Ontario Laboratory (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Vanessa Allen
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage