Toronto - Neurology - Pediatric
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology - Pediatric
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35661
Summary
- This is a 5-year Royal College paediatric neurology residency based at The Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto.
- PGY-1 includes 9 blocks of general paediatrics, and PGY-2 includes 3 blocks of adult neurology at St. Michael's Hospital, University Health Network and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre.
- Residents pursue research projects throughout training with protected time, and they follow their own patients in a longitudinal continuity clinic.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- St. Michael's Hospital
- University Health Network
Show all 5Show fewer
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Annual Prichard research day where trainees present their work and interact with a visiting professor.
- Longitudinal general paediatric neurology continuity clinic that begins in PGY-1 and continues through training.
By year
- PGY-1
- general paediatrics (paediatric wards, emergency paediatrics, community paediatrics, care of the newborn, infectious diseases, immunology/allergy/dermatology)9 blocks
- paediatric neurologyone block
- community-based paediatric neurologyone block
- paediatric neurosurgeryone block
- researchone block
- PGY-2
- general and subspecialty paediatrics5 blocks
- paediatric neurology5 blocks
- adult neurology3 blocks
Other rotations
- ambulatory and inpatient paediatric neurology services (PGY-3 to 5)
- epilepsy (PGY-3 to 5)
- electroencephalography (PGY-3 to 5)
- critical care (PGY-3 to 5)
- neuromuscular disorders (PGY-3 to 5)
- developmental paediatrics (PGY-3 to 5)
- neonatal neurology (PGY-3 to 5)
- neuroradiology (PGY-3 to 5)
- neuropathology (PGY-3 to 5)
- stroke (PGY-3 to 5)
- neuroinflammatory disorders (PGY-3 to 5)
- inpatient and ambulatory adult neurology (PGY-3 to 5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Carolina Gorodetsky
Program Director
Dr. Rhandi Christensen
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage