Toronto - Neuropathology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neuropathology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36225
Summary
- This is a 5-year neuropathology residency at the University of Toronto, following the Royal College Competency By Design framework.
- Training draws on six Toronto sites, including Toronto General Hospital, SickKids, Sunnybrook and the Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit, operating as a single unit.
- Residents present their research projects at an annual Departmental Research Day, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- The University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital)
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Unity Health
Show all 6Show fewer
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- the Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- The program says its teaching material volume is larger than any other centre in Canada.
- Ten neuropathology faculty across six training sites, including a provincial forensic pathology unit.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- orientation to Neuropathology and an introduction to laboratory services (Transition to Discipline Stage · 2 block)
- neurology (Foundations Stage)
- neurosurgery (Foundations Stage)
- pediatric neurology (Foundations Stage)
- neuroradiology (Foundations Stage)
- internal medicine (Foundations Stage)
- autopsy (Foundations Stage)
- cytopathology (Foundations Stage)
- surgical pathology (Foundations Stage)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital) (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Unity Health (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- the Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrew Gao
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage