Toronto - Neurosurgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- IMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36310
Summary
- This is a 6-year neurosurgery residency at the University of Toronto, conducted at 5 clinical sites.
- Training includes 42 months of clinical neurosurgery, with 13 blocks as Chief neurosurgical resident.
- Research toward an M.Sc. or Ph.D. is available through the Surgeon Scientist Program.
- Matched IMGs must complete a return-of-service commitment in Ontario after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Toronto Western Hospital
- St. Michael’s Hospital
- Sunnybrook Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Trillium Health Partners
- SickKids Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Elective of three to six months possible, usually in PGY-4 to 5, including international outreach.
By year
- PGY-1
- adult neurosurgery (includes neurotrauma/neurocritical care)8 blocks
- pediatric neurosurgery2 blocks
- surgical elective (selected from neurosurgery-spine, orthopedic-spine, vascular, thoracic, plastics or ENT)2 blocks
- Surgery and Neurosurgery Prep Camp Orientation4 weeks
- emergency medicine1 block
- PGY-2
- neurosurgery9 blocks
- neurocritical care2 blocks
- Neurology2 blocks
- PGY-5
- neuropathology1 block
Other rotations
- pediatric neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 · 6 blocks)
- Chief neurosurgical resident (PGY-3 to 6 · 13 blocks (12 months))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 and 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Fri 29 Jan 2027time not stated
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michael’s Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners
- SickKids Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Program Director” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. George Ibrahim
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage