Toronto - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36355
Summary
- This five-year Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery program consists of one year of Surgical Foundations followed by four years of specialty training at University of Toronto teaching hospitals.
- PGY2 includes a dedicated 4-month research block, and PGY4–PGY5 include at least 3 months of community otolaryngology.
- Applicants must fulfil a return-of-service commitment in Ontario immediately after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Sinai Health (SH)
- St. Michael's Hospital - Unity Health Toronto (SMH)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC)
Show all 10Show fewer
- University Health Network (UHN) - Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital, Princess Margaret Hospital
- Hospital for Sick Children (HSC)
- Michael Garron Hospital (MGH)
- North York General (NYGH)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre - Unity Health Toronto (SJHC)
- Scarborough Health Network (SHN)
- Trillium Health Partners (THP)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- PGY3 residents spend 2 weeks in the anatomy division dissecting and teaching head and neck anatomy.
- PGY5 residents undergo 20–30 practice oral exams per year with written examiner feedback.
By year
- PGY-1
- Otolaryngology7 months
- Intensive Care Medicine2 months
- Anesthesia1 month
- Neurosurgery1 month
- Adult Emergency Medicine1 month
- PGY-2
- Otolaryngology at North York General (NYGH)2 months
- Plastic Surgery2 months
- Otolaryngology1 month
- General Surgery1 month
- Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery1 month
- Intensive Care Medicine1 month
- PGY-3
- anatomy laboratory2 weeks
Other rotations
- community otolaryngology (PGY4 and PGY5 · a minimum of 3 months · Michael Garron Hospital, Unity Health Toronto - St. Joseph's Health Centre & Trillium Health Partners)
- pathology rotation (PGY4 and PGY5)
- facial plastic & reconstructive surgery rotation (PGY4 and PGY5 · 1-month)
- sleep medicine rotation (PGY4 and PGY5)
- elective (PGY4 and PGY5 · 1-month)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Sinai Health (SH)
- St. Michael's Hospital - Unity Health Toronto (SMH) (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC)
- University Health Network (UHN) - Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital, Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
- Hospital for Sick Children (HSC)
- Michael Garron Hospital (MGH)
- North York General (NYGH)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre - Unity Health Toronto (SJHC) (Toronto)
- Scarborough Health Network (SHN)
- Trillium Health Partners (THP)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Vincent Lin
Director Postgraduate Education
ohns.educationcoordinator@utoronto.ca
Faculty profile of Dr. Vincent Lin(opens in a new tab)
Inner Ear Pharmacokinetics, Corticosteroid Pharmacology, Surgical Animal models, Hair Cell Regeneration, Dementia
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage