Toronto - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35388
Summary
- The University of Toronto PM&R residency is a 5-year program based at UHN-Toronto Rehab, University Centre.
- Training sites include adult rehabilitation hospitals, a pediatric rehabilitation hospital and four regional rehabilitation hospitals.
- Research is required, and PGY5 includes 3 mandatory junior attending blocks.
- PGY2-5 residents take home call.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- UHN-Toronto Rehab, University Centre
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehab
- UHN- West Park Healthcare Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- Hennick Bridgepoint Hospital
- St. John's Rehabilitation Hospital
- Providence Healthcare
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Highlights
- Training across ten rehabilitation hospitals, including a dedicated pediatric rehabilitation hospital.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Geri-Rehab2 blocks
- Rheumatology (outpatient clinics)1 block
- Plastic Surgery1 block
- Urology or Vascular surgery1 block
- Sports Medicine1 block
- Medicine/ Subspecialty SelectivesTwo 1 block rotations
- PGY-2
- Neurology3 blocks
- Orthopedics3 blocks
Other rotations
- MSK (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
- Neuro (choose from acquired brain injury, spinal cord injury or stroke rehab) (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
- Spinal Cord Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 2 blocks)
- Prosthetics & Orthotics (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Stroke Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Cancer Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Cardiac Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Chronic Pain (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Consult Service (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks (2 outpatient, 2 inpatient senior rotation))
- Spasticity (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Diseases of Nerve and Muscle (incl. EMG) (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks)
- Senior Resident Longitudinal Clinics (PGY5) (Core of Discipline (COD))
- Research (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Electives (Core of Discipline (COD))
- mandatory junior attending (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 3 blocks)
- Senior Resident Longitudinal Clinic (Transition to Practice (TTP))
- Research (Transition to Practice (TTP))
- Electives (Transition to Practice (TTP))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- UHN-Toronto Rehab, University Centre (Toronto)
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehab (Toronto)
- UHN- West Park Healthcare Centre (Toronto)
- Hennick Bridgepoint Hospital (Toronto)
- St. John's Rehabilitation Hospital (Toronto)
- Providence Healthcare (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kimberly Coros
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage