Toronto - Plastic Surgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36026
Summary
- The University of Toronto Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery residency is a 5-year program with 28 residents and 55 teaching faculty across university teaching hospitals.
- The first 12-18 months are Surgical Foundations, followed by senior years of about nine four-month rotations covering plastic surgery subspecialties.
- Residents can pursue dedicated research through the Department of Surgery's Surgeon Scientist Program, including Master's and PhD degrees.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Senior years consist of four-month rotations through all plastic surgery subspecialties.
- Access to the Department of Surgery's Surgeon Scientist Program for Master's or PhD research training.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
Info sessions
Wed 20 Jan 20276:00 pm (time zone not stated)
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Thu 21 Jan 20276:00 pm (time zone not stated)
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kyle Wanzel
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage