Toronto - Psychiatry - Research Track
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry - Research Track
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35452
Summary
- This is a 5-year psychiatry Clinician-Researcher Track (CResT) at the University of Toronto, with core rotations at affiliated hospitals in the Greater Toronto Area.
- The track provides multi-month blocks of protected research time plus longitudinal protected research days from PGY2-5, with research-focused electives for most of PGY5.
- Applicants need at least one research elective and one academic publication, and interviews are held virtually.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Research-focused electives occupy most of the PGY5 year.
- Departmental funds can pay tuition for a thesis-based graduate degree during residency.
- Applicants must have at least one research elective and one academic publication.
By year
- PGY-1
- psychiatry5 blocks
- general internal medicine2 blocks
- cognitive neurology1 block
- emergency medicine1 block
- palliative care1 block
- neurology1 block
- family medicine or pediatrics1 block
- Personalized Learning Experience (PLEX)one block
- Ground School
- Half-day Outpatient Psychiatry Experience
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 15 Oct 20267:00 pm EDT
Info session
Link for University of Toronto, Thu 15 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Thu 19 Nov 20262:00 pm EDT
Info session
Link for University of Toronto, Thu 19 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Adrienne Tan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Sean Nestor
Assistant Program Director, Clinician-Researcher Track
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage