Toronto - Psychiatry
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Psychiatry
- 201–400
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36129
Summary
- This is a 5-year psychiatry residency at the University of Toronto, with core rotations at affiliated hospitals across the Greater Toronto Area.
- PGY1 begins with a transition curriculum called Ground School, followed by 12 four-week blocks including 5 blocks of psychiatry.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Clinician Scientist Program with half-day weekly protected research time and a graduate stream in PGY-5.
- Clinician Scholar Program offering protected time in PGY3 and PGY4 for education, QI or humanities projects.
By year
- PGY-1
- psychiatry5 blocks
- general internal medicine2 blocks
- cognitive neurology1 block
- emergency medicine1 block
- palliative care1 block
- neurology1 block
- family medicine or pediatrics1 block
- Ground School
- Half-day Outpatient Psychiatry Experience
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 15 Oct 20267:00 pm EDT
Info session
Link for University of Toronto, Thu 15 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Thu 19 Nov 20262:00 pm EDT
Info session
Link for University of Toronto, Thu 19 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Adrienne Tan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage