Toronto - Radiation Oncology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36052
Summary
- The University of Toronto Radiation Oncology program is a 5-year residency based at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and Odette Cancer Centre in Toronto.
- Residents complete a mandatory community radiation oncology rotation at Southlake Regional or Royal Victoria Hospital.
- Each resident is expected to complete several research projects and submit manuscripts; call is in-house at PM and from home at Odette.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC) incorporating the Odette Cancer Centre (OCC)
- The Toronto Western Hospital (TWH)
Show all 11Show fewer
- The Toronto General Hospital (TGH)
- Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (TRI)
- Michener Institute
- Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH)
- Hospital for Sick Children (HSC)
- Southlake Regional Hospital
- Credit Valley Hospital
- Royal Victoria Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Call
- In-house and home call
- Highlights
- Access to adaptive radiotherapy (Ethos/Unity MR Linac), gamma knife and afterloading brachytherapy.
- Exposure to subspecialty techniques such as craniospinal irradiation, total body irradiation and GU/gynecology brachytherapy.
By year
- PGY-1
- Radiation Oncology2 block (8 week)
- internal medicine
- surgical oncology
- medical oncology
- ENT/head-and-neck surgery
- palliative care
- PGY-2
- radiation oncology rotations
Other rotations
- radiation oncology rotations (PGY-3 and 4 Years – Core of Discipline · two to three months at a time · PM & OCC)
- community RO rotation (PGY-3 and 4 Years – Core of Discipline · Southlake Regional or Royal Victoria Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC) incorporating the Odette Cancer Centre (OCC) (Toronto)
- The Toronto Western Hospital (TWH) (Toronto)
- The Toronto General Hospital (TGH) (Toronto)
- Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (TRI) (Toronto)
- Michener Institute (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH) (Toronto)
- Hospital for Sick Children (HSC) (Toronto)
- Southlake Regional Hospital (Newmarket)
- Credit Valley Hospital (Mississauga)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (Barrie)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Derek Tsang
Program Director, Radiation Oncology Residency
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage