Toronto - Urology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Urology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35347
Summary
- The University of Toronto Urology residency is a 5-year program with Surgical Foundations in the first clinical year and off-service rotations in general surgery, trauma/ICU and renal transplantation.
- Training takes place at Toronto teaching hospitals including UHN, SickKids, Sunnybrook, St. Michael's and Mount Sinai, plus community sites.
- The program accepts up to 2 IMGs per year, who must complete a Pre-Residency Program and an Ontario return-of-service commitment.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- The University Health Network (The Toronto General and Western Divisions, Princess Margaret Hospital.)
- Hospital for Sick Children
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and Odette Regional Cancer Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Trillium Health (Credit Valley Hospital)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Optional step-out into the Department of Surgery Surgical Scientist Training Program for academically oriented residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general surgery
- trauma/ICU
- renal transplantation
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The University Health Network (The Toronto General and Western Divisions, Princess Margaret Hospital.) (Toronto)
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and Odette Regional Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health (Credit Valley Hospital)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Yonah Krakowsky
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage