Toronto - Vascular Surgery
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35300
Summary
- The University of Toronto Vascular Surgery residency is a 5-year program delivered across five teaching sites in Toronto, with open and endovascular training at all sites.
- Residents are expected to complete a research project annually, and may enter the Surgeon Scientist Training Program after second year.
- Training in diagnostic vascular ultrasound is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- University Health Network, Toronto General Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- Humber River Hospital
- Scarborough General Hospital
- Trillium Health Center
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Two main sites participate in a regional GTA vascular emergency call coverage program.
- Residents get vascular trauma exposure, including paediatric vascular trauma, and vascular support for surgical oncology cases.
By year
- PGY-1
- central departmental skills boot camp
- vascular surgery specific boot camp
- PGY-3
- cardiac surgery
- further vascular rotations
Other rotations
- off-service surgical and medical rotations (first two years)
- vascular laboratory (first two years)
- run a vascular service (final two years · one of our core sites)
- interventional radiology (final two years)
- vascular lab (final two years)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Health Network, Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Humber River Hospital (Toronto)
- Scarborough General Hospital (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Center
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Elisa Greco
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage