Skip to content
CdnMD

Trois-Pistoles - Family Medicine

Université LavalTrois-Pistoles, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 8 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
6 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36491

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year family medicine program is based at the GMF-U in the Centre hospitalier de Trois-Pistoles, 2.5 hours from Québec City.
  • Specialty rotations take place mainly at the Centre hospitalier régional du Grand-Portage in Rivière-du-Loup.
  • An integrated curriculum teaches specialties within family medicine weeks rather than in separate successive blocks.
  • Residents complete a quality-improvement scholarly project presented at the end of residency.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
Sites

9 teaching sites

  • GMF-U de Trois-Pistoles
  • Centre hospitalier de Trois-Pistoles
  • Centre hospitalier Régional du Grand-Portage
Show all 9
  • Hôpital de Notre-Dame-du-Lac
  • Maison Desjardins de Rivière-du-Loup
  • cliniques médicales de Saint-Antonin et Frontenac de Rivière-du-Loup
  • Centre Apprentiss
  • Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac
  • La Pocatière

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Early independence
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Call
In-house and home call
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
Highlights
  • Integrated curriculum: specialties learned within family medicine weeks instead of separate rotation blocks.
  • Free point-of-care ultrasound certification for regional GMF-U residents.
  • Regional residents get an extra elective and priority in choosing electives.

By year

PGY-1
  • Fondation en médecine de famille en GMF-U7 à 9 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U6 à 8 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U5 à 7 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U5 à 6 semaines
  • Médecine interne3 à 4 semaines
  • Pédiatrie3 à 4 semaines
  • Périnatalité3 à 4 semaines
  • Urgence3 à 4 semaines
  • ASS en santé de la femme1 à 2 semaines
  • ASS en santé de la femme1 à 2 semaines
  • Hospitalisation1 semaine
  • Hospitalisation1 semaine
PGY-2
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U5 à 7 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U5 à 7 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U4 à 5 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en GMF-U3 à 4 semaines
  • Locomoteur3 à 4 semaines
  • Option3 à 4 semaines
  • Médecine de famille en région3 à 4 semaines
  • Psychiatrie3 à 4 semaines
  • Option3 à 4 semaines
  • Soins palliatifs1 à 2 semaines
  • Soins aux personnes âgées1 à 2 semaines
  • Urgence1 à 2 semaines
  • Hospitalisation1 semaine
  • Hospitalisation1 semaine
  • Hospitalisation1 semaine

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”
  • “Les candidats choisis devront avoir fait une formation postdoctorale ou une pratique clinique significative dans une spécialité antérieure de base”
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • GMF-U de Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles)
  • Centre hospitalier de Trois-Pistoles (Trois-Pistoles)
  • Centre hospitalier Régional du Grand-Portage (Rivière-du-Loup)
  • Hôpital de Notre-Dame-du-Lac (rural or distributed site)
  • Maison Desjardins de Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup)
  • cliniques médicales de Saint-Antonin et Frontenac de Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup)
  • Centre Apprentiss (Québec)
  • Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac · rural or distributed site)
  • La Pocatière (La Pocatière · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Centre hospitalier Régional du Grand-Portage

Matched to Centre Hospitalier Régional du Grand-Portage (Rivière-du-Loup) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,713 · 2026–2027: 9,113 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 114 · psychiatry 21 · geriatrics 10 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital de Notre-Dame-du-Lac

Matched to Hôpital de Notre-Dame-du-Lac (Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 5,491 · 2026–2027: 5,349 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 35 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 9 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Trois-Pistoles.

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir

admission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Équipe Admission · Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Program director

  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites

Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Trois-Pistoles, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−12.5 °C Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
July average
17.3 °C Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
Snowfall
281.1 cm a year Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away
Days below −20 °C
22.9 days a year Grandes-Bergeronnes, 29.3 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Trois-Pistoles, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
3,115 people down 4.0% from 2016
Official languages
English only not reported · French only 80.6% · English and French 19.4% · neither not reported Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
1.0% of residents arrived 2016–2021: not reported · non-permanent residents: not reported
Indigenous identity
1.7% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 83.1% · public transit 1.0% · walking or cycling 14.4% · other 2.1% Average commute: 13.2 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$48,000 before tax $43,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Trois-Pistoles, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 3,031 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.352 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$47,106 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Quebec, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.