Val d'Or - Family Medicine
McGill UniversityVal d'Or, QuebecRegular stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- Regular
- Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36123
Summary
- This two-year McGill family medicine program is based at the GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l'Or and the Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or, with training in French.
- Most of residency (17 of 26 periods) is spent in longitudinal GMF-U Super blocks, supplemented by 9 periods of block rotations including 5 elective periods.
- A critical appraisal or quality-of-care project is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or
- GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l‘Or
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Indigenous health
- Small program
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Hospital Medicine
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Highlights
- Horizontal curriculum: 17 of 26 periods are spent in longitudinal GMF-U Super blocks.
- Serves eastern Abitibi, including Algonquin communities and the Cree population of James Bay.
- Family physicians cover the emergency department, inpatient care and obstetrics at the hospital.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Super bloc GMF-U (17 périodes · GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l’Or)
- urgence (1 période)
- obstétrique (1 période)
- pédiatrie ambulatoire (1 période)
- stage sélectif (1 période)
- stages optionnels (5 périodes)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or)
- GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l‘Or (Val-d'Or)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 11,299 · 2026–2027: 11,152
- Licensed beds
- physical health 73 · geriatrics 8
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 8 of 9 years.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
umfvd-enseignement@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Mme Louise Paradis · Responsable la coordination de l’enseignement
Mme Karine Michaud
Responable de la coordination de l'enseignement
Mme Julie Lane
Gestionnaire, enseignement postdoctoral
Program directors
Dr(e) Fanny Hersson-Edery
Dr. Francis Venne
Directeur de l'enseignement
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Val d'Or, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 17.7 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 56.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 32,752 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.9% · French only 63.5% · English and French 35.5% · neither 0.1%
- Immigrants
- 2.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.6% · public transit 0.4% · walking or cycling 6.2% · other 3.8%
- Median household income
- $75,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Val-d'Or, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.363
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 1.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $46,852 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage