Vancouver - Community Impact - Pediatrics
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 4 years
- CMG
- Pediatrics
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35869
Summary
- The Community Impact stream is a 4-year UBC pediatrics residency at the Vancouver site focused on care of underserved populations.
- Most training occurs at BC Children's Hospital, with six Foundations blocks based in Prince George in Northern BC.
- In Prince George, CTU, community pediatrics and level II NICU are experienced in an integrated longitudinal manner.
- Residents must complete a research project, with 4 weeks of research enrichment time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- BC Children’s Hospital
- BC Women’s Hospital
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children
Show all 10Show fewer
- University Hospital of Northern BC
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Royal Inland Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Abbotsford Regional General Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Kelowna Regional General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float · frequency “6 night shifts over 2 weeks”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- First-year residents in Prince George are the most senior pediatric trainee, without layers of seniority.
- Integrated longitudinal first-year training in Prince George combining CTU, community pediatrics and level II NICU.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Orientation block (Transition to Discipline)
- Pediatric emergency medicine (Transition to Discipline)
- CTU (clinical teaching unit) (Transition to Discipline · BC Children's Hospital)
- Community Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline · Prince George)
- integrated training which includes CTU, well newborns and level II nursery, community general pediatrics, social pediatrics, ambulatory clinics and outreach programs (Foundations · 5 blocks · Prince George)
- endocrinology (Foundations)
- gastroenterology (Foundations)
- neurology clinics (Foundations)
- hematology-oncology clinics (Foundations)
- respirology (Foundations)
- Level II NICU (Foundations · BCCH)
- CTU (Core 1 · BCCH)
- hospital consults (Core 1)
- social pediatrics (Core 1)
- Community general pediatrics (Core 1 · Prince George)
- nephrology (Core 1)
- oncology (Core 1)
- cardiology (Core 1)
- tertiary level III nursery (Core 1)
- Pediatric intensive care (Core 1)
- Electives (Core 1 · x 2)
- CTU Senior (Core 2 · Prince George)
- night float (Core 2)
- community hospital pediatrics (Core 2)
- developmental pediatrics (Core 2)
- neurology (Core 2)
- adolescent medicine (Core 2)
- psychiatry (Core 2)
- emergency (Core 2)
- complex care (Core 2)
- surgical specialties (Core 2)
- medical selective (genetics, infectious diseases, metabolic diseases, allergy/immunology, dermatology or rheumatology) (Core 2)
- tertiary level III nursery (Core 2)
- Pediatric intensive care (Core 2)
- Elective (Core 2 · x 2)
- Junior consultant and community ambulatory pediatrics (Transition to Practice · Prince George)
- CTU (Transition to Practice · BCCH)
- Emergency medicine (Transition to Practice)
- NICU selective (Transition to Practice)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · x3)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Women’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children (Vancouver)
- University Hospital of Northern BC (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster · rural or distributed site)
- Abbotsford Regional General Hospital (Abbotsford · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna Regional General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
BC Children’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
University Hospital of Northern BC
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Abbotsford Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
Kelowna Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“For questions not covered on CaRMS site contact:” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program directors
Dr. Melissa Chan
Program Director
Dr. Sara Jassemi
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Lara Malks Jjumba
Community Impact stream lead in Prince George
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage