Vancouver - Diagnostic Radiology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 7 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35554
Summary
- This is a 5-year diagnostic radiology residency based at UBC-affiliated hospitals.
- R-1 residents are placed by mini-match at St. Paul's, Royal Jubilee (Victoria) or Royal Columbian Hospital.
- Every resident must complete a clinical audit project, and research is strongly encouraged.
- Applicants must complete the Casper test, and interviews are virtual.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- UBC Hospital (UBCH)
Show all 10Show fewer
- BC Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- British Columbia Cancer (BC Cancer)
- Mount Saint Joseph Hospital (MSJ)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Lions Gate Hospital (LGH)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Monthly radiology day-back curriculum runs longitudinally through the R-1 off-service year.
- Some residents may relocate to Victoria for the entire R-1 year.
By year
- PGY-1
- mini-rotationsBlocks 12 and 13
- Radiology Anatomy BootcampBlock 11
- CTU
- medicine subspecialty
- general surgery
- surgical subspecialty
- ER x2
- ICU
- neurology
- OB
- pediatrics
- PGY-2
- neuroradiology
- chest radiology
- musculoskeletal radiology
- abdominal imaging
- emergency and trauma radiology
- MR
- mammography
- nuclear medicine
Other rotations
- angiography/intervention (R-3 & 4/ Core)
- pediatric radiology (R-3 & 4/ Core)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital (UBCH) (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Cancer (BC Cancer)
- Mount Saint Joseph Hospital (MSJ) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria)
- Lions Gate Hospital (LGH) (North Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
UBC Hospital (UBCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
BC Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Mount Saint Joseph Hospital (MSJ)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Lions Gate Hospital (LGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Leyla Yazdi
Dr. Will Guest
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage