Vancouver - Diagnostic Radiology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCompetitive RoS stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Competitive RoS
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 29416
Summary
The UBC Diagnostic Radiology Residency Program in Vancouver offers comprehensive training to develop well-rounded radiologists capable of working in clinical and academic settings. The program aims to train future leaders in radiology who can serve the imaging needs of patients in British Columbia and Canada through a robust, progressive curriculum.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a clinical audit project and are strongly encouraged to pursue at least one research project during residency, with dedicated research time and an annual resident research day.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across six UBC affiliated hospitals in Vancouver, including Vancouver General Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, UBC Hospital, BC Children's Hospital, British Columbia Cancer Agency, and Mount Saint Joseph.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing comprehensive clinical training, research skills, and preparation for consultant-level practice in diagnostic radiology.
- Setting types
- Academic medical centers
- Teaching hospitals
- Cancer treatment center
- Focus areas
- Diagnostic Radiology
- Nuclear Medicine
- Interventional Radiology
- Pediatric Radiology
- Oncological Radiology
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Adult patients
- Oncology patients
- Emergency and trauma patients
- Highlights
- Monthly radiology introduction lectures
- Dedicated radiology anatomy block
- Annual resident research day
- American Institute of Radiological Pathology (AIRP) enrollment
- Clinical audit project requirement
- Visiting international professors
- Daily hospital conferences
- Weekly grand rounds
- Wellness program
- Strengths
- Comprehensive 5-year training program
- Strong academic and clinical exposure
- Excellent research opportunities
- Ratio of residents to faculty is 1:2.46
- Flexible senior year training
- Enhanced skills
- Pediatric Radiology
- Interventional Radiology
- Nuclear Medicine
- Magnetic Resonance Imaging
- Mammography
- Oncological Radiology
By year
- PGY-1
- MedicineBlocks not specified
- SurgeryBlocks not specified
- OB/GYNBlocks not specified
- PediatricsBlocks not specified
- EmergencyBlocks not specified
- Family PracticeBlocks not specified
- ICUBlocks not specified
- NeurologyBlocks not specified
- AnatomyBlocks not specified
- ElectiveBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- NeuroradiologyFirst 6 months
- Chest RadiologyFirst 6 months
- Musculoskeletal RadiologyFirst 6 months
- Abdominal ImagingFirst 6 months
- Emergency and Trauma RadiologyFirst 6 months
- MRRemainder of year
- MammographyRemainder of year
- Nuclear MedicineRemainder of year
- PGY-3
- Angiography/InterventionBlocks not specified
- Pediatric RadiologyBlocks not specified
- Physics CurriculumOne intensive year
- PGY-4
- Subspecialty RotationsBlocks not specified
- PGY-5
- Tailored RotationsBlocks not specified
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV review
- Electives review
- Casper Test
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 28, 29 and 30 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- UBC Hospital
- BC Children's Hospital
- British Columbia Cancer Agency
- Mount Saint Joseph
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage