Vancouver - General Surgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35260
Summary
- UBC General Surgery is a 5-year residency in which residents must rotate through hospitals around British Columbia.
- Residents rotate on trauma, hepatobiliary, transplant, surgical oncology and colorectal services, at community hospitals, and on a formal endoscopy rotation.
- PGY2 residents have a research block to prepare for research years, mainly through the Clinical Investigator Program.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
25 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver
- BC Children's Hospital, Vancouver
Show all 25Show fewer
- UBC Hospital, Vancouver
- BC Cancer Agency, Vancouver
- Mount St. Joseph Hospital, Vancouver
- Lion's Gate Hospital, North Vancouver
- Richmond Hospital
- qathet General Hospital, Powell River
- Royal Columbian Hospital, New Westminster
- Burnaby General Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre
- Victoria General Hospital, Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- North Island Hospital, Campbell River
- East Kootney Regional Hospital, Cranbrook
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Inland Hospital, Kamloops
- Shuswap Lake General Hospital, Salmon Arm
- Vernon Jubilee Hospital
- Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital, Trail
- University Hospital of Northern BC, Prince George
- GR Baker Memorial Hospital, Quesnel
- Mills Memorial Hospital, Terrace
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Four-week PGY1 CRASH course covering trauma resuscitation, critical care, teaching, leadership and technical skills.
- PGY2 Innovation Week protected from clinical duties for surgical research and innovation.
- PGY4 RISE: protected time from clinical duties for leadership and career mentorship.
By year
- PGY-1
- CRASH (Surgical Competencies in Resuscitation and Stabilization of Hospital Patients) coursefour-week
- BST (Basic Surgical Techniques) course
- PGY-2
- research block
- Innovation Week
- PGY-4
- RISE
Other rotations
- trauma
- hepatobiliary
- transplant
- surgical oncology
- colorectal surgery
- endoscopy rotation
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital, Vancouver (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital, Vancouver (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer Agency, Vancouver (Vancouver)
- Mount St. Joseph Hospital, Vancouver (Vancouver)
- Lion's Gate Hospital, North Vancouver (North Vancouver)
- Richmond Hospital (Richmond)
- qathet General Hospital, Powell River (Powell River · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Columbian Hospital, New Westminster (New Westminster)
- Burnaby General Hospital (Burnaby)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre (Abbotsford · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital, Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- North Island Hospital, Campbell River (Campbell River · rural or distributed site)
- East Kootney Regional Hospital, Cranbrook (Cranbrook · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital, Kamloops (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Shuswap Lake General Hospital, Salmon Arm (Salmon Arm · rural or distributed site)
- Vernon Jubilee Hospital (Vernon · rural or distributed site)
- Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital, Trail (Trail · rural or distributed site)
- University Hospital of Northern BC, Prince George (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- GR Baker Memorial Hospital, Quesnel (Quesnel · rural or distributed site)
- Mills Memorial Hospital, Terrace (Terrace · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
BC Children's Hospital, Vancouver
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Show facts for 20 more sitesShow fewer
UBC Hospital, Vancouver
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
Mount St. Joseph Hospital, Vancouver
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
Lion's Gate Hospital, North Vancouver
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Richmond Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,446
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,680
qathet General Hospital, Powell River
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 974
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 284
Royal Columbian Hospital, New Westminster
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Burnaby General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,388
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,058
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
Victoria General Hospital, Royal Jubilee Hospital
Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Victoria General Hospital (Victoria)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
North Island Hospital, Campbell River
North Island Hospital Campbell River and District (Campbell River)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 2,628
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 664
North Island Hospital Comox Valley (Courtenay)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,417
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,923
East Kootney Regional Hospital, Cranbrook
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,068
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Inland Hospital, Kamloops
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
Shuswap Lake General Hospital, Salmon Arm
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 1,682
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 431
Vernon Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,704
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,249
Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital, Trail
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 2,497
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 640
University Hospital of Northern BC, Prince George
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
GR Baker Memorial Hospital, Quesnel
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 1,452
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 414
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program directors
Dr. Trevor Hamilton
Program Co-Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Trevor Hamilton(opens in a new tab)
His clinical interest is in advanced gastrointestinal cancers, peritoneal surface malignancies, and soft tissue sarcoma.
Dr. Rebecca Warburton
Program Co-Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Rebecca Warburton(opens in a new tab)
Breast Surgical Oncology; General Surgery
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage