Vancouver - Neurology - Pediatric
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology - Pediatric
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36469
Summary
- UBC's Pediatric Neurology program is a 5-year direct-entry residency with one CMG position per year.
- Most training is at BC Children's Hospital, with adult neurology time at Vancouver General Hospital and St. Paul's Hospital.
- Residents are expected to do scholarly projects and report research progress, and protected research time is available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Resident-to-faculty ratio of 1:2.
- Inpatient ward shared with pediatric neurosurgery, including an epilepsy monitoring unit.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- orientation to the discipline and hospital (Transition to residency stage · 2 blocks)
- general pediatric training (Foundations stage)
- psychiatry (Foundations stage)
- neurosurgery (Foundations stage)
- research (Foundations stage)
- pediatric neurology (Foundations stage)
- adult neurology (Core of discipline stage · 6 months)
- neurophysiology (Core of discipline stage)
- neuroradiology (Core of discipline stage)
- neuropathology (Core of discipline stage)
- epilepsy (Core of discipline stage)
- neonatal neurology (Core of discipline stage)
- neuromuscular (Core of discipline stage)
- community neurology (Core of discipline stage)
- neuro-opthamology (Core of discipline stage)
- neuro genetics (Core of discipline stage)
- neuro-oncology (Core of discipline stage)
- junior attending on the ward and out-patient clinic (Transition to practice stage · Approximately 8 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children (Vancouver)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. James Lee
Program Director, Division of Neurology
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage