Vancouver - Neuropathology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neuropathology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35377
Summary
- UBC Neuropathology is a 5-year residency trained primarily at Vancouver General Hospital and BC Children's Hospital.
- Foundations include seven clinical blocks and a year of anatomical pathology, followed by two years of adult neuropathology and three months of pediatric neuropathology.
- Residents must take part in at least one research project, and interviews are held by Zoom.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- BC Cancer-Agency
Show all 6Show fewer
- St. Paul's Hospital
- BC Centre for Disease Control
- The Royal Columbian Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Program describes its service as one of Canada's busiest neuropathology services, including forensic and nerve/muscle pathology.
By year
- PGY-1
- block specific to neuropathologyone block
- PGY-5
- Transition to practicefinal half of the PGY5 year
Other rotations
- internal medicine (Foundations (PGY1 & 2))
- adult neurology (Foundations (PGY1 & 2) · 2 blocks)
- pediatric neurology (Foundations (PGY1 & 2))
- neurosurgery (Foundations (PGY1 & 2))
- neuro-oncology (Foundations (PGY1 & 2))
- neuroradiology (Foundations (PGY1 & 2))
- anatomical pathology (Foundations (PGY1 & 2) · one full year)
- adult neuropathology (Core (PGY2 – 5) · two full years · VGH)
- pediatric neuropathology (Core (PGY2 – 5) · three months · BCCH)
- elective blocks (Core (PGY2 – 5) · several)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer-Agency (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Centre for Disease Control (Vancouver)
- The Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
The Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 1 position open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ian Mackenzie
Faculty profile of Dr. Ian Mackenzie(opens in a new tab)
Dr. Ian Mackenzie, a neuropathologist, has extensive expertise in using brain tissue banks in the care of patients with neurological disorders. His research program centres on neuropathology and the molecular genetics of neurodegenerative disease, particularly dementias.
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage