Vancouver - Neurosurgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36440
Summary
- UBC Neurosurgery is a 6-year program whose first two years follow the Royal College Surgical Foundation guidelines.
- Senior training centres on the adult cranial and spine services at Vancouver General Hospital, with rotations at community sites, BC Children's Hospital, neuroradiology and neuropathology.
- Residents from PGY2 onward are expected to complete an annual supervised clinical research project, and research blocks are available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital and Health Sciences Centre
- BC Children's Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Lions Gate Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Full-time division research coordinator assists residents with ethics, statistics and funding applications.
- Dedicated 4-week "CRASH" course during surgical foundation years to ease the transition into residency.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- ENT (PGY-1 & 2)
- Plastics (PGY-1 & 2)
- Orthopedics (PGY-1 & 2)
- Trauma surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- Vascular surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- emergency medicine (PGY-1 & 2)
- ICU (PGY-1 & 2)
- Neurology (PGY-1 & 2)
- Adult Cranial Neurosurgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- Spinal Neurosurgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- adult cranial neurosurgery service (PGY-3 to 6 · multiple blocks · Vancouver General Hospital (VGH))
- adult spine service (PGY-3 to 6 · multiple blocks · VGH)
- distributed (community) sites (PGY-3 to 6)
- Pediatric Neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 · BC Children's Hospital)
- neuroradiology (PGY-3 to 6)
- neuropathology (PGY-3 to 6)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
| PGY-6 | $106,953 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital and Health Sciences Centre (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Lions Gate Hospital (North Vancouver · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital and Health Sciences Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Lions Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Serge Makarenko
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage