Vancouver - Ophthalmology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35615
Summary
- UBC Ophthalmology is a 5-year residency centred in Vancouver, based at the UBC Eye Care Centre on the Vancouver General Hospital campus.
- Training also uses St. Paul's, Mount St. Joseph's and BC Children's hospitals, with Foundations assignments possible in New Westminster or Victoria and a mandatory senior rotation in Fort St John.
- Residents must take part in research with scheduled time, take home call, and attend a 6-week TORIC course in Toronto.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital & Eye Care Centre
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Fort St John
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Highlights
- Mandatory senior ophthalmology rotation in Fort St John, northern British Columbia.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- various adult and pediatric ophthalmology clinics (Transition to Discipline · 1 month)
- internal medicine (Core)
- emergency (Core)
- neurology (Core)
- dedication ophthalmology block (Core)
- TORIC course (Core · 6 weeks · Toronto)
- retina (Foundations)
- cornea (Foundations)
- glaucoma (Foundations)
- oculoplastics (Foundations)
- pediatrics ophthalmology (Foundations)
- neuro-ophthalmology (Foundations)
- uveitis (Foundations)
- oncology (Foundations)
- low vision (Foundations)
- emergency clinics (Foundations)
- dedicated OR blocks (Foundations)
- mandatory ophthalmology rotation (senior years · Fort St John)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital & Eye Care Centre (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Fort St John (Fort St John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital & Eye Care Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Bryon McKay
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage