Vancouver - Pediatrics - Research Track
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 4 years
- CMG
- Pediatrics - Research Track
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35436
Summary
- This is a 4-year UBC pediatrics residency track based at BC Children's Hospital in Vancouver, with mandatory community time around the province each year.
- The Research Track takes one resident per year and provides about six months of dedicated research time without extending training.
- Interviews are virtual, combining the Vancouver MMI with an additional traditional interview specific to the track.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
13 teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- British Columbia Women's Hospital
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children
Show all 13Show fewer
- Royal Inland Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern BC
- Langley Memorial Hospital
- Lions Gate Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- About six months of dedicated research time within the standard 4-year pediatrics residency, without extending training.
- A separate PGY1 match for a single research-track position each year, launched in 2024.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1 and 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Women's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children (Vancouver)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- University Hospital of Northern BC (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Langley Memorial Hospital (Langley)
- Lions Gate Hospital (North Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital (Abbotsford)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
British Columbia Women's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
Show facts for 9 more sitesShow fewer
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
University Hospital of Northern BC
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Langley Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,154
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,643
Lions Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Nanaimo Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“For questions not covered on CaRMS site contact:” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program director
Dr. Melissa Chan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Dr. Ran Goldman
Faculty Lead Research
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage