Vancouver - Pediatrics
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 11 positions
- 4 years
- CMG
- Pediatrics
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36385
Summary
- This is a 4-year pediatrics residency based mainly at BC Children's Hospital in Vancouver, the only tertiary care pediatric hospital in BC.
- Residents spend mandatory time each year in community practices and hospitals around the province.
- CTU rotations combine day and night-float shifts, and all residents are expected to do research and present it at least once.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Sites
13 teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
- British Columbia Women's Hospital
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children
Show all 13Show fewer
- Royal Inland Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern BC
- Langley Memorial Hospital
- Lions Gate Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house call · night float · frequency “6 night shifts over 2 weeks”
- Highlights
- Mandatory community pediatrics time every year at hospitals and practices across British Columbia.
- Senior residents can do three-month global health electives through partner hospitals in South Africa and Australia.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Orientation block (Transition to Discipline)
- CTU (Transition to Discipline)
- Pediatric emergency medicine (Transition to Discipline)
- Community pediatrics (Transition to Discipline)
- CTU (combination of days and night float) (Foundations (junior resident))
- community general pediatrics (Foundations (junior resident))
- endocrinology (Foundations (junior resident))
- gastroenterology (Foundations (junior resident))
- neurology clinics (Foundations (junior resident))
- hematology-oncology clinics (Foundations (junior resident))
- respirology (Foundations (junior resident))
- medical selective (genetics, infectious diseases, metabolic diseases, dermatology, allergy/immunology or rheumatology) (Foundations (junior resident))
- Neonatal care: level II NICU (Foundations (junior resident))
- CTU (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- community general pediatrics (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- social pediatrics (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- nephrology (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- oncology (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- cardiology (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- Neonatal care: tertiary level III nursery (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- Pediatric intensive care (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident))
- Electives (Core 1 (transition towards senior resident) · x 2)
- CTU (Core 2 (senior resident))
- community hospital pediatrics (Core 2 (senior resident))
- developmental pediatrics (Core 2 (senior resident))
- neurology (Core 2 (senior resident))
- adolescent medicine (Core 2 (senior resident))
- psychiatry (Core 2 (senior resident))
- emergency (Core 2 (senior resident))
- dermatology (Core 2 (senior resident))
- complex care (Core 2 (senior resident))
- surgical subspecialties (Core 2 (senior resident))
- medical selective (genetics, infectious diseases, metabolic diseases, dermatology, allergy/immunology or rheumatology) or distributed community block (Core 2 (senior resident))
- Neonatal care: tertiary level III nursery (Core 2 (senior resident))
- Pediatric intensive care (Core 2 (senior resident))
- Elective (Core 2 (senior resident) · x 2)
- Junior consultant (Transition to Practice · distributed site)
- community ambulatory pediatrics (Transition to Practice)
- CTU (Transition to Practice)
- Emergency medicine (Transition to Practice)
- NICU selective (Transition to Practice)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · x 3)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Women's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children (Vancouver)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- University Hospital of Northern BC (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Langley Memorial Hospital (Langley)
- Lions Gate Hospital (North Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital (Abbotsford)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
British Columbia Women's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
Show facts for 9 more sitesShow fewer
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
University Hospital of Northern BC
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Langley Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,154
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,643
Lions Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Abbotsford Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Nanaimo Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“For questions not covered on CaRMS site please contact:” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program directors
Dr. Melissa Chan
Program Director
Dr. Laura Kaufman
Interim Associate Program Director
Dr. Sara Jassemi
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage