Vancouver - Plastic Surgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36064
Summary
- UBC Plastic Surgery is a five-year residency with about 18 months of core surgical foundation time followed by plastic surgery training.
- Training takes place mainly at Vancouver hospitals, and PGY-4 includes a two-block community rotation in Kelowna.
- Residents complete one research project or review per year in PGY-3 to PGY-5 for presentation at the UBC Resident Research Day.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
15 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- UBC Hospital
- British Columbia Children's Hospital
Show all 15Show fewer
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Private offices and surgery centres of attending staff
- Private Surgical Centres
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Okanagan Plastic Surgery Centre
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- North Island Hospital
- Lion's Gate Hospital
- Fraser Valley Hospitals
- Richmond General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- PGY-5 residents work in a resident cosmetic clinic for about six months, evaluating and operating on patients.
By year
- PGY-1
- plastic surgery2 months
- orthopaedics2 months
- emergency medicine1 month
- internal medicine1 month
- general surgery oncology1 month
- general surgery trauma1 month
- paediatric plastic surgery1 month
- crash course1 month
- neurosurgery1 month
- vascular1 month
- otolaryngology1 month
- PGY-2
- Plastic surgery6 blocks
- Intensive care2 blocks
- Burns2 blocks
- Oculoplastics1 block
- Dermsurgery1 block
- Community plastic surgery1 block
- PGY-3
- Adult plastic surgery4 blocks
- Hand surgery3 blocks
- Burns2 blocks
- Paediatric Plastic Surgery1 block
- Elective1 block
- Ambulatory1 block
- Community Plastic Surgery1 block
- PGY-4
- Adult plastic surgery7 blocks
- Pediatric plastic surgery2 blocks
- Plastic surgery Kelowna (Community)2 blocks
- Elective1 block
- Cosmetic surgery1 block
- PGY-5
- Adult plastic surgery9 blocks
- Paediatric plastic surgery2 blocks
- Ambulatory1 block
- Transition to Practice1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Private offices and surgery centres of attending staff
- Private Surgical Centres (Lower Mainland)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Okanagan Plastic Surgery Centre (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- North Island Hospital (Campbell River · rural or distributed site)
- Lion's Gate Hospital (North Vancouver)
- Fraser Valley Hospitals (Lower Mainland)
- Richmond General Hospital (Richmond)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
British Columbia Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Show facts for 8 more sitesShow fewer
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
North Island Hospital
North Island Hospital Campbell River and District (Campbell River)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 2,628
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 664
North Island Hospital Comox Valley (Courtenay)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,417
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,923
Lion's Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Richmond General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,446
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,680
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Shivani Sharma
Sr. Program Assistant
Program director
Dr. Esta Bovill
Director, Post Graduate Education
Faculty profile of Dr. Esta Bovill(opens in a new tab)
Plastic Surgery
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage