Vancouver - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35970
Summary
- UBC's PHPM program is a 5-year program offering a standard PHPM stream and an integrated PHPM-FM stream supporting dual FRCPC and CCFP certification.
- PGY-1 is based in Vancouver and includes coursework leading to a Master of Public Health.
- Later training includes clinical work at St. Paul's Hospital and public health rotations across BC, with at least 4 months required outside the Lower Mainland.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- UBC's School of Population and Public Health
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Fraser Health
Show all 12Show fewer
- Interior Health
- Island Health
- Northern Health
- Vancouver Coastal Health
- BC Centre for Disease Control
- WorkSafe BC
- First Nations Health Authority
- BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS
- Office of the Provincial Health Officer
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Integrated PHPM-FM stream allowing residents to switch between PHPM and PHPM-FM during PGY-1 or PGY-2.
- Travel and housing funded for all mandatory rotations outside the resident's home city within BC.
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory public health rotationtwo-month
- graduate level coursework and a practicum leading to a PHPM specific 42 credit Master of Public Health (MPH)
- PGY-5
- specialty elective practiceup to 12 months
- transition to practice rotation
Other rotations
- basic clinical training year (PGY-2 to PGY-4 Clinical Foundations and Core Training · 12 month · St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver)
- core general public health practice rotations (PGY-2 to PGY-4 Clinical Foundations and Core Training · 12 months · urban, regional, and rural health regions around the province)
- core speciality public health practice (PGY-2 to PGY-4 Clinical Foundations and Core Training · 12 months · health agencies including BCCDC, WorkSafe BC, and the Office of the PHO)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 and 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- UBC's School of Population and Public Health (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Fraser Health (rural or distributed site)
- Interior Health (rural or distributed site)
- Island Health (rural or distributed site)
- Northern Health (rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver Coastal Health (Vancouver)
- BC Centre for Disease Control
- WorkSafe BC
- First Nations Health Authority
- BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS
- Office of the Provincial Health Officer
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Shovita Padhi
Associate Program Director
Dr. Geoffrey McKee
Dr. Sue Pollock
Program Director
Geoff McKee MD MPH FRCPC
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%