Vancouver - Radiation Oncology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36482
Summary
- The UBC Radiation Oncology program is a 5-year residency based at BC Cancer's Vancouver Centre, with the basic clinical year completed at St. Paul's Hospital or Royal Columbian Hospital.
- Residents spend at least one month at another BC Cancer site in Victoria, Surrey, Abbotsford, Prince George or Kelowna.
- All residents complete at least one scholarly project and present research annually.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- BC Cancer- Vancouver Cancer Center (VCC)
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- Fraser Valley Cancer
- Abbotsford Cancer Centre
- Vancouver Island Cancer
- Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior
- Cancer Centre for the North
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- A dedicated Resident Research Coordinator meets residents regularly to help with project screening, methodology and publication.
- Resident-to-faculty ratio of 1:2 at the Vancouver Cancer Centre.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Radiation Oncology (Transition to Discipline · first two blocks)
- general internal medicine (Foundations)
- general surgery (Foundations)
- sub-specialty medicine (including medical oncology) (Foundations)
- sub-specialty surgery (Foundations)
- palliative medicine (Foundations)
- radiology (Foundations)
- pathology (Foundations)
- Physics rotation (Core)
- community rotation (at least one month · one of the other BC Cancer sites (Victoria, Surrey, Abbotsford, Prince George or Kelowna))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- BC Cancer- Vancouver Cancer Center (VCC) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Fraser Valley Cancer (Surrey · rural or distributed site)
- Abbotsford Cancer Centre (Abbotsford · rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver Island Cancer (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Cancer Centre for the North (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Michael Peacock
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage