Vancouver - Vascular Surgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36213
Summary
- UBC Vascular Surgery is a 5-year residency with rotations at five hospitals across British Columbia.
- Sites are Vancouver General, St. Paul's, Royal Columbian, Kelowna General and Royal Jubilee in Victoria, and UBC covers housing for the Kelowna and Victoria rotations.
- Off-service rotations are limited to hepatobiliary general surgery, perioperative medicine and stroke neurology during PGY-1 to PGY-2.
- The division ended its fellowship program in 2016, and research opportunities are available, including graduate degrees.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- No vascular fellows since the fellowship program ended in 2016, so operative cases go to residents.
- Training at St. Paul's, the only BC site offering endovascular arteriovenous fistulas.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general surgery - hepatobiliary (Transition to Discipline and Foundations of Discipline phases)
- perioperative medicine (Transition to Discipline and Foundations of Discipline phases)
- stroke neurology (Transition to Discipline and Foundations of Discipline phases)
- CRASH course (Surgical Foundations · month-long block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jonathan Misskey
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage