Vancouver Island - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver Island, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35551
Summary
- This is the Vancouver Island site of the 5-year UBC Royal College Emergency Medicine program, based at Victoria General and Royal Jubilee Hospitals in Victoria.
- PGY-1 residents attend an introductory ultrasound course in Vancouver and complete a dedicated ultrasound block later in the year.
- Residents must complete a scholarly research, quality/patient safety or educational project, and housing is provided for core rotations at other UBC sites.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
Show all 8Show fewer
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- VGH is the Island's dedicated pediatric hospital; ER physicians lead all pediatric resuscitations.
- Optional trauma team leader call is available after completing the PGY-1 trauma block.
- Residents can teach and mentor Island Medical Program students from the start of residency.
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory ultrasound course
- dedicated ultrasound block
- Trauma block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH) (New Westminster)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
BC's Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Jeff Eisen
Associate Program Director, Vancouver Island Site
Anny Ruch
Site Program Admin
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver Island, British Columbia