Skip to content
CdnMD

Vancouver Island - Radiation Oncology

University of British ColumbiaVancouver Island, British ColumbiaCompetitive RoS streamNew for 2027

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 4 Sep 2026

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
Not stated on CaRMS page
Stream
Competitive RoS
Discipline
Radiation Oncology
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36961

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This UBC Radiation Oncology stream bases residents at the Victoria Cancer Centre for most of their training, with 2027 marking the first cohort of the full 5-year position.
  • Pediatric Radiation Oncology is the only mandatory rotation in Vancouver, with PGME funding for housing and travel.
  • The stream carries a return-of-service obligation to work in BC for 3 years, outside the Vancouver Centre.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

6 teaching sites

  • BC Cancer- Victoria Cancer Center (VIC)
  • Vancouver Cancer Centre
  • Fraser Valley Cancer Centre
Show all 6
  • Abbotsford Cancer Centre
  • Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior
  • Cancer Centre for the North
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Residents train mainly in Victoria; the only rotation that must be done in Vancouver is pediatrics, with housing and travel funded.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pediatric Radiation Oncology (Vancouver)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · this stream · 3 years
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 2 Sep 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Salaries from April 2027.

Annual salary by PGY level, British Columbia
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$71,390 / year
PGY-2
$79,571 / year
PGY-3
$86,655 / year
PGY-4
$93,230 / year
PGY-5
$100,215 / year
PGY-6
$106,953 / year
PGY-7
$113,940 / year

One provincial scale for British Columbia, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
Yes. Mandatory
Dental plan
100% Premiums Paid
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Frequency of calls
1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
Life insurance
100% Premium Paid
Long-term disability insurance
Yes 100% Premiums Paid
Maternity leave
17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
Meal allowance
No
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.5%
Provincial health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory holidays
2 x pay plus extra day with pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

RDBC agreement, 1 Apr 2025 to 31 Mar 2029.

Teaching sites

  • BC Cancer- Victoria Cancer Center (VIC) (Victoria)
  • Vancouver Cancer Centre (Vancouver)
  • Fraser Valley Cancer Centre (Surrey)
  • Abbotsford Cancer Centre (Abbotsford)
  • Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior (Kelowna)
  • Cancer Centre for the North (Prince George)

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program director

Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.