Winnipeg - Cardiac Surgery
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35390
Summary
- The University of Manitoba's cardiac surgery residency is a 6-year program, and all surgery is done at St. Boniface Hospital.
- Eight faculty surgeons perform about 1100 adult cardiac operations a year and run a 15-bed Cardiac Surgical Intensive Care Unit.
- Residents train in cardiac transplantation and pediatric cardiac surgery at the University of Alberta in Edmonton.
- Research mostly happens during an academic enrichment year, and residents can choose to pursue an MSc or PhD.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- St. Boniface Hospital
- University of Alberta
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Transplant and pediatric cardiac surgery training happens in Edmonton under an inter-university agreement.
- A dedicated Thoracic Aortic Diseases Clinic.
- The program pays for each resident to attend one out-of-town scientific conference every year.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 17 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
| PGY-6 | $101,119 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
- University of Alberta (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ricky Muller Moran
Faculty profile of Dr. Ricky Muller Moran(opens in a new tab)
He received his residency training in cardiac surgery at the University of Manitoba and completed an Advanced Adult Cardiac Surgery Fellowship at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, Illinois with a focus on transcatheter aortic valve replacement and aortic surgery.
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage