Winnipeg - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCompetitive stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Competitive
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 37270
Summary
- This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency at the University of Manitoba, with training spread across four hospital sites in Winnipeg.
- An elective surgical pathology rotation is offered at the Westman Laboratory in Brandon.
- A scholarly project is mandatory, and IMGs must sign a return of service contract with Manitoba Health.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Center
- Saint Boniface Hospital
- Grace General Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Victoria General Hospital
- Westman Laboratory
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Busy autopsy service covering adult, pediatric and medico-legal cases from across the province.
- Redesigned "CBD 2.0" assessment framework that reduces assessment burden and adds more narrative evaluation.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Autopsy (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Surgery (Surgical Oncology) (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Internal Medicine – GI (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Radiology (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Gynecologic Oncology (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Medical Oncology (Foundations · 1 Block)
- Grossing (Foundations · 2 Blocks)
- Introduction to Surgical Pathology (Foundations · 2 Blocks)
- Jr Core Surgical Pathology (Foundations · 2 Blocks)
- Surg Path (Core · 9 to 12 Blocks · HSC/St. B)
- Forensic (Core · 2 Blocks · HSC/St. B)
- Cytology (Core · 4 Blocks)
- Pediatric Path (Core · 2 Blocks)
- Molecular Path (Core · 1 Block)
- NeuroPathology (Core · 2 Blocks)
- Hematopath (Core · 2 Blocks)
- Renal Path (Core · 1 Block)
- Bone and Soft Tissue (Core · 1 block)
- GI Path (Core · 1 block)
- Head and Neck (Core · 1 Block)
- Pulmonary (Core · 1 Block)
- Breast (Core · 1 block)
- Gyne Path (Core · 1 block)
- Dermatopathology (Core · 1 block)
- Ophthalmic Path (Core · 1 block)
- SurgPath (Community Rotations - (Electives) · 1 block · Brandon, MB)
- combined surgical pathology and cytology (Transition to Practice · minimum 3 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19 and 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Center (Winnipeg)
- Saint Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Grace General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Victoria General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Westman Laboratory (Brandon · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Program director
Dr. Marc Ranson
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage