Winnipeg - Family Medicine
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 14 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36324
Summary
- This is a 2-year urban Family Medicine residency in which residents are attached to one of four family medicine teaching units in Winnipeg.
- First year includes 5 months of Family Medicine Block Time, and residency includes 22 weeks of selective and elective time.
- Hospital-based pediatric rotations are at the Children's Hospital, and a driver's license and reliable vehicle are mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Kildonan Medical Centre
- Seven Oaks General Hospital
- Access River East
Show all 10Show fewer
- Concordia Hospital
- Access Fort Garry
- Bison Family Medical Clinic
- Access Winnipeg West
- Grace Hospital
- Deer Lodge Centre
- Children's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered
- Enhanced skills
- Addiction Medicine
- Anesthesia
- Other
- Care of the Elderly
- Emergency Medicine
- Obstetrical Surgical Skills
- Palliative Care
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Optional Integrative Medicine in Residency program with the University of Arizona, completed longitudinally alongside residency.
- Mandatory ultrasound curriculum provided for all residents.
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine Block Time (FMBT)5 months
Other rotations
- selective and elective time (22 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–8:30 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 18 Nov 20267:00–8:00 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Wed 18 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–8:00 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 9 Dec 20267:00–8:00 pm CST
Info session · VirtualCheck with the program
Link for University of Manitoba, Wed 9 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Kildonan Medical Centre (Winnipeg)
- Seven Oaks General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Access River East (Winnipeg)
- Concordia Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Access Fort Garry (Winnipeg)
- Bison Family Medical Clinic (Winnipeg)
- Access Winnipeg West (Winnipeg)
- Grace Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Deer Lodge Centre (Winnipeg)
- Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 8 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Leah Peters
Postgraduate Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Michael Polan
Site Education Director - Access Fort Garry
Dr. Erica Halmarson
Site Education Director - Access River East
Dr. Serena Nelko
Site Education Director - Access Winnipeg West
Dr. Opeyemi Sobowale
Site Education Director - Kildonan Medical Centre
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage