Winnipeg - Medical Microbiology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36396
Summary
- This is a 5-year Medical Microbiology residency at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg.
- PGY-1 is basic clinical training, PGY-2 focuses on clinical infectious diseases, and PGY-3 and 4 are core laboratory training across four Winnipeg sites.
- PGY-5 is essentially an elective year tailored to the trainee's interests.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Public health agency
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre
- St. Boniface Hospital
- Cadham Provincial Laboratory
Show all 4Show fewer
- National Microbiology Laboratory
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Highlights
- Mandatory rotation at the National Microbiology Laboratory, Canada's national reference laboratory, located in Winnipeg.
- Closely integrated with adult and pediatric infectious diseases programs through shared rounds, journal club and half-day.
By year
- PGY-1
- general medicine (and relevant subspecialties)
- pediatrics
- general surgery
- critical care
- emergency medicine
- PGY-2
- adult infectious diseases services
- pediatric infectious diseases service
- continuity clinic
- outpatient specialty clinic block
- PGY-5
- additional specialty training or research opportunities
Other rotations
- core laboratory training (PGY-3 and 4 · two years · Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface General Hospital, Cadham Provincial Laboratory, and the National Microbiology Laboratory)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Cadham Provincial Laboratory (Winnipeg)
- National Microbiology Laboratory (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrew Walkty
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage