Winnipeg - Neurosurgery
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35718
Summary
- This six-year neurosurgery residency is based at the Health Sciences Centre and Winnipeg Children's Hospital in Winnipeg.
- Off-service rotations include trauma surgery, plastic surgery, surgical ICU, neurology and neuropathology.
- An optional elective year, typically PGY4, can be used for research or subspecialty training, or extended into graduate studies via the Clinician Investigator Program.
- Senior residents oversee the neurosurgery unit as lead resident.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre
- Winnipeg Children’s Hospital
- Concordia Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Maples Surgical Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Main training site houses Canada's first Gamma Knife unit, plus an intra-operative MRI suite.
- Five full-time physician assistants support adult neurosurgery inpatient care alongside residents.
- Dedicated one-year M.Sc. in Surgery designed for surgical residents.
By year
- PGY-1
- Neurosurgeryminimum 3 blocks
- Gold (trauma) surgery1 block
- Neurology1 block
- Surgical Intensive Care Unit1 block
- additional Neurosurgery serviceremaining time of PGY1
- PGY-2
- Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery1 block
- Neurology1 block
- Neurosurgery
- PGY-3
- Early Research rotationminimum 1 block
- Neurosurgery
- PGY-5
- Neuropathology1-2 blocks
- Neurosurgery
Other rotations
- Neurosurgery service (Transition to Discipline · first 2 blocks)
- Neurosurgery (Core of Discipline – PG4)
- Clinical electives in other disciplines or out-of-province (Core of Discipline – PG4)
- Research/Graduate program (e.g., Clinician-Investigator Program) (Core of Discipline – PG4)
- Neurosurgery (Core of Discipline – PGY6)
- Neurosurgery (Transition to Practice · final 3-6 months of training (PGY6))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 and 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
| PGY-6 | $101,119 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- Winnipeg Children’s Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Concordia Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Maples Surgical Centre (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Annie Drapeau
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage