Winnipeg - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36028
Summary
- This is a 5-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency in Winnipeg, typically taking 2 residents per year.
- Training includes 6 periods of musculoskeletal rehabilitation and 3 periods of pediatric rehabilitation, one of which is spent in Edmonton.
- Research is required, with at least one research period that may be taken longitudinally.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Rehabilitation Hospital, Health Sciences Centre
- General Hospital, Health Sciences Centre
- Special Services for Children and Youth (SSCY)
Show all 10Show fewer
- Rehfit Center
- Associated Sport and Spine Physicians
- St. Boniface Hospital
- Riverview Health Centre
- Pan-Am Sports Medicine Centre
- Pain Clinic
- University of Alberta
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Physiatry-based EMG and neuromuscular training meeting the requirements for CSCN and ABEM EMG certification.
- Mostly outpatient surgical selectives across vascular, neurosurgery, urology and plastics, focused on physiatry needs.
- One pediatric rehabilitation period is done in Edmonton through an interuniversity agreement.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- CTU Medicine (3 periods)
- Geriatrics (1 period)
- Internal Medicine (3 periods)
- Neurology (2 periods)
- Rheumatology (2 periods)
- Medicine Selectives (at least 2 periods)
- Surgical Selectives (Vascular, Neurosurgery, Urology, Plastics) (at least 2 periods)
- Orthopedics (3 periods)
- Musculoskeletal (6 periods)
- Acquired Brain Injury (3 periods)
- Stroke Rehabilitation (3 periods)
- Amputee Rehabilitation (3 periods)
- Spinal Cord Injury (3 periods)
- Electromyography (3 periods)
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (3 periods)
- Electives (4 periods)
- Research (at least 1 period)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Rehabilitation Hospital, Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- General Hospital, Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
- Special Services for Children and Youth (SSCY) (Winnipeg)
- Rehfit Center (Winnipeg)
- Associated Sport and Spine Physicians (Winnipeg)
- St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Riverview Health Centre (Winnipeg)
- Pan-Am Sports Medicine Centre (Winnipeg)
- Pain Clinic (Winnipeg)
- University of Alberta (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Riverview Health Centre” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program director
Dr. Jennifer Salter
Postgraduate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage