Winnipeg - Plastic Surgery
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36325
Summary
- This is a five-year plastic surgery residency at the University of Manitoba, with two core years followed by three years of clinical plastic surgery.
- Training takes place at Winnipeg sites including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface General Hospital, Victoria General Hospital and Pan Am Clinic.
- Residents are expected to prepare a research paper every year, and those interested can pursue a one-year MSc.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre - General Centre
- Health Sciences Centre - Children's Hospital
- St. Boniface General Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Victoria General Hospital
- Pan Am Clinic
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Residents interested in research can complete a one-year MSc degree during training.
- Residents in PGY3-5 write both the Canadian and the American plastic surgery in-training examinations each year.
By year
- PGY-1
- Plastics3 periods
- Orthopedic Surgery (one hand & one trauma)2 periods
- Gold Surgery (General Surgery/Acute Care)1 period
- Green Surgery (Surgical Oncology)1 period
- Pediatric Surgery1 period
- ENT1 period
- Oral Surgery1 period
- Surgical Foundations1 period
- Research (Plastic Surgery)1 period
- Vacation1 period
- PGY-2
- Junior Trauma Plastic Surgery4 periods
- Pediatric Plastic Surgery3 periods
- Burns2 periods
- SICU1 period
- Vascular Surgery1 period
- Plastic Surgery1 periods
- Anesthesia Step-Down1 period
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre - General Centre (Winnipeg)
- Health Sciences Centre - Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
- St. Boniface General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Victoria General Hospital (Winnipeg)
- Pan Am Clinic (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Kaley Donaldson
Assistant Program Director
Dr. Courtney Wilkes
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage